My Story: Kim Harkins

I haven’t been very good about posting anything to the blog lately because I’ve been super busy working. It’s a great problem to have, but it can get in the way sometimes. Unfortunately I’ve haven’t been shooting for myself too much lately. So, I recently completed another episode to the “My Story” project I’ve been kicking around for the past year. The idea behind the project is to show the world a glimpse into people’s lives. I wanted to tell cool stories about cool people that you might never meet. I needed to get out and shoot something, and I needed a challenge to push myself creatively. Shooting video seemed like a great way to learn and a great way to create something new.

I graduated from Gwinnett Technical College this year with a degree in commercial photography. I’m still not quite sure how I found myself there but I wouldn’t change anything for the world. I’ve truly found something I love doing and I plan on shooting till I’m six feet under.

This project isn’t about me though; it’s about the people I’ve met along the way. The world of photography is enormous and things are changing daily in our industry. I’ve only been in the game for a few years but I truly think that one of the most valuable things to me and my future career as a photographer is the people who have invested themselves in my life. I am one of the few that actually went to school for photography and I owe a lot to my professors at GTC. Without the help of some very key people I would not be where I am today.

Kim Harkins was the department head of the photography program at the time. She has been teaching for close to 35 years and is moving out to the West coast to continue teaching. She was at GTC for 27 of those years and has made an impact on not only my life, but countless others like Zack Arias, Marc Climie, and many more.

I went to a Tech school, but the program that Kim and the other professors built over the years far surpasses some of the Art colleges I’ve visited. The quality of work and craftsmanship coming out of Gwinnett Tech is phenomenal, and is only getting better as time passes.

This video was a lot of different things for me. It was something creative for me to get out and do for myself. It was a way of saying thank you to Kim and everyone at GTC, and it was a way for me to meet some really great people. All in all, I’m really stoked to be doing what I’m doing, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Cheers!

Special Thanks to those who have invested in me: Kim Harkins, Marc Climie, Zack Arias, Sheri Finch, John Kippel, Kathy Nesbit, David Allen Jones, Claudia Winter, Andrew Kornylak.

8 responses

  1. Awesome Brett!!!!

    November 10, 2011 at 10:50 AM

  2. Love it, Brett!

    November 10, 2011 at 11:03 AM

  3. SammiKate

    GOD I MISS THAT WOMAN!!!! 🙂 LOVE IT BRETT!

    November 10, 2011 at 5:08 PM

    • Have you given any kind of thought at all with converting your main web-site into French? I know a couple of trarslatens right here that would help you do it for no cost if you want to make contact with me.

      May 9, 2017 at 11:55 PM

  4. Awesome job, Brett! This is just perfect.

    December 10, 2011 at 11:02 PM

  5. great job! I actually miss her cropping my full size image down to a 2×2 square and saying “this was your shot, do it again”. Wonderful teacher!

    December 11, 2011 at 10:20 AM

  6. Hey Brett, this is amazing! I miss Mrs. Harkins so much now having watched this, she is an amazing teacher! She invested her time in me so that I could succeed, at times I wish I still had that encouragement! Thanks again!

    February 16, 2012 at 10:23 PM

  7. Jenni Green

    wow! Brett, this is was wonderful! Thank you for making this & sharing!!

    August 4, 2012 at 5:43 PM

Leave a Reply

